More than 156 public holidays in 365 days

With the government deciding to give leave on Sunday, government offices will be open only for 210 days out of 365 days of the year. The weekly leave, which used to be 52 days a year, will now reach 104 days.Apart from that, the government services given by different religions, communities and regions will be closed for more than 156 days. Even though the government has tried to compensate by increasing the working hours, the number of office closing days has increased significantly.

The number of leave announced by the federal government to be applicable to all across the country is only 33. According to the gazette published by the government, a 15-day nationwide holiday has been fixed in 2079 BS. On top of this, 6 days leave has been given for Dashain and 5 days leave for Tihar.

Everybody goes on a five working day including World Labor Day, Republic Day, Constitution Day, National Democracy Day and Women’s Day.Buddha Jayanti is also a public holiday for all. Some governments have even announced a public holiday on National Unity Day.Even though leave has not been granted, Civil Service Day, Martyr’s Day and National Anti-Untouchability Day have been fixed for nationwide celebration.

Religions, communities and places are also given a large number of leave. Adding the six-day leave that the state governments can give to the respective states adds up to 19 such leave per year.For the Terai and hills, leave has been given on holidays in Phagu Punirma. The Newar community has a special holiday on the day of Gaijatra, Gaura Parva, Mohammad Jayanti and Saruwa Pawani. For women, Teej and Jitia are on holiday. Vasant Panchami is a holiday for educational institutions.

In Kathmandu, there is a holiday in Gaijatra, Indrajatra, Matsyandranath’s Bhoto showing procession and horse procession. People with disabilities are also given leave on International Day of Persons with Disabilities. On the day of Falgunananda Jayanti, and the birth anniversary of Guru Nanak, the followers of the respective religions take leave. An additional six days’ leave, which the states can announce, also applies to offices under the federal government.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.